Breakfast Quinoa with Almond Milk, Dried Cranberries and Pumpkin Seeds

No meat to be found in this one! No photos, either, because I seem to have erased them from the camera card! I’m having exactly that sort of week, friends. Bear with me.

I am a fan of warm, porridgey breakfast foods. I’m even a fan of savory bowls of stuff in the morning–rice and eggs with sesame oil, leftover potato curries warmed quickly in a pan with some olive oil. Even as a kid, I was never all that fond of plain ol’ cereal and milk. Give me something that sticks and stays and I’m happier, more content. Braced for the day. I probably got this from my mother, who used to eat leftover linguini with white clam sauce–her own recipe, sublime!–in the mornings with coffee.

Recipe #3: Breakfast Quinoa with Almond Milk, Dried Cranberries and Pumpkin Seeds

1/2 cup quinoa, rinsed

1 1/2 cups vanilla almond milk (or any dairy or non-dairy milk substitute of your liking)

2 tbsp pumpkin seeds (or sunflower seeds, or chopped nuts)

1 tbsp dried cranberries or raisins

1 tsp sugar (brown or white) or maple syrup or agave or honey or….you get the point

sprinkle of cinnamon

Put the quinoa and almond milk into a pan and bring to a boil. Lower to a simmer, cover and cook for 15 minutes. Remove from heat and let sit for five more minutes before removing the lid.

Mine was a little soupier than I expected it to be, but this was just fine. I might have stirred cream into my porridge anyway.

Add the cranberries, pumpkin seeds (these were just what I had on hand; you could add virtually anything–shredded coconut, almonds, chopped dates–that seems vaguely breakfasty to this and it would work beautifully) and sugar. Sprinkle with cinnamon and eat while warm.

Healthy? Sure. Delicious? Oh yes.

________________________________________________________________

Are you a breakfast-eater? What are your typical (and least typical!) breakfast foods?

Leave a Reply

