VCCA, Day 4: There. I said it.

I don’t have to write a traditional narrative.

I don’t want to write a traditional narrative.

I am not going to write a traditional narrative.

This was my mid-morning realization/revelation. There are several reasons why, and I’ve detailed them a bit already. Basically it comes down to this: there are folks I would hurt if I wrote it. And that just feels wrong to me.

Beyond that, though, maybe it’s an aesthetic preference. The pieces of mine that I am most–attracted to sounds weird, but it’s apt–are the lyric essays I’ve been writing. I like the ambiguity they allow, the nuance, the juxtaposition. All things I have come to value and seek out in writing.

Maybe this is really a collection of meditative essays. I’m not even sure what that means yet, except to say it’s the word that keeps coming to me when I think about this material.

Meanwhile, it was a rainy day. Kind of welcome after several days of heat. I learned today that there is a five foot black rat snake that lives under the picnic tables and likes to scoot across the gravel path. Honestly, I’d kind of like to meet him.

Maybe tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

